Day 15  of my recent 30 Day Thankfulness Challenge; I am thankful for a fire in a fireplace.      😀

I love sitting in front of a fireplace. I had the privilege to sit in front of a roaring fire every night for two years; No Tv, sometimes a book and a fire. I miss it.  It wasn’t too long when I began to daydream or get sleepy when sitting around a flickering fire.

Maybe in the scientific sense; it’s the slow flicker rate of the firelight so that when you gaze into a flickering fire, your brain activity tends to slow. Probably that’s why you find yourself relaxing or even yawning around a kindling camp fire or a cozy fireplace.

Fire warms us giving us the heat we need but the flames dance away the evening that provide a time to relax.

Day 15 fire_in_fireplace

Many a evening entranced by the flames I would watch the flame and humorously enjoy  the many changing colors and dancing movements. Crackle and sizzle and the flicker not just entertainment but it’s an invitation to draw close and stay close like a warm hug.

Time in front of a fire is never wasted.  How can time pondering, meditating, thinking, dreaming, planning and appreciating life be a waste of time.  Possibly it is sitting in front of the flame I realized that it is a waste of energy to focus on what I am missing, something I don’t have.  A better attitude, a knowledge that one key to happiness is to take pleasure in what I actually have.  I truly appreciate life!

What is it about a fire at Christmas congers Christmas magic, youltide, reminiscing about Christmas past, evokes conversation of  Dickens’s day and ‘The Christmas Carol’ and centuries long gone. A time to remember what Christmas really means for me.

For to us a child is born,
to us a son is given,
and the government will be on his shoulders.
And he will be called
Wonderful Counselor, Mighty God,
Everlasting Father, Prince of Peace.
Of the increase of his government and peace
there will be no end.
He will reign on David’s throne
and over his kingdom,
establishing and upholding it
with justice and righteousness
from that time on and forever.
The zeal of the LORD Almighty
will accomplish this. – Isaiah 9:6-7

Pertinent Quotes:

Is any pleasure on earth as great as a circle of friends by a fire?  C.S. Lewis

Catch on fire with enthusiasm and people will come for miles to watch you burn.  Charles Wesley

So This is Christmas by Celine Dion; click link to listen?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QnNrXoCxbUk

Thanks for reading my blog – Beverley

