Day 20 of my recent 30 Day Thankfulness Challenge; I am thankful for movies but especially older movies . 😀

There are many things I am thankful for in the modern age but modern movies usually do not go to the top of my list.  I will agree there are some great movies that have come out in the past  20 years but I am afraid I still prefer the message of the older movies.

Hollywood does not leave much to the imagination. Predominant themes are sex and more sex, immorality, violence with the full blood guts and brawn, potty mouth to the nth degree, disregard for love and marriage is the order of the day so I avoid those and go straight to the sensible movies [in my opinion].

Day 20 A_Charlie_Brown_Christmas,_1965

I actually love all Christmas movies. Dear me I am the proverbial child. lol

Oh my goodness I just realized something I love so many movies I can’t name them all. Oh dear; my name is Beverley Hoyles and I am a movie addict!
😀 Not really I love movies but I’m haven’t gone that far yet!

For me whatever the movie I am watching… it has to get to me on an emotional level.

I must feel something. It must send a message and I have to decide whether it is conducive for me to hang on to.

Personally I don’t like movies that want to cram things that deprave humanity in any way. Propaganda to infiltrate society to believe a criteria to beauty is only in a visual sense. I also dislike the idea of movies that promote immorality and disloyalty.

A good movie should give us pause to think, laugh, motivate to excel, promote goodwill, encourage humanity, deductive reasoning, common sense, highlight integral qualities, courage, values, to love, etc. while entertaining.

So I am strong in my opinion and expect a lot more from the presence of movies.

 

Movies

  • An Affair to Remember
  • Ferdinand the Bull – Walt Disney 1938- Although I didn’t like the gentleman smoking in this kids movie
  • Gone with the Wind – always cry at the ending
  • It’s a wonderful Life – with JImmy Stewart gives you hope in mankind and their kindness to help
  • I love the magic of Scrooge in the 1951- The Christmas Carol  – Alastair Sim is the greatest actor ever
  • Look Whose Coming to Dinner with Sidney Poitier
  • Meet me in St. Louis – During the year before the 1904 St Louis World’s Fair, the four Smith daughters learn lessons of life and love, even as they prepare for a reluctant move to New York
  • Miracle of 34th Street
  • Singing in the Rain – just gotta lift your spirits
  • The Incredible Mr. Limpett – love Don Knotts
  • The Ghost and Mrs. Muir
  • Wizard of Oz – Judy Garland one of my all time favorites
  • White Christmas with Bing Crosby; who don’t love Bing

There are some I like that have been produced in the past few years; here are a few.

  • Anna and the King with Jodie Foster and Chow Yun-Fat
  • Avatar
  • 127 Hours
  • Charlie Brown Christmas
  • Charlotte’s Web
  • Courageous
  • Dances with Wolves
  • Fireproof – beautiful movie about marriage
  • Hachi: Dog Story with Richard Gere
  • Man without a Face
  • Patch Adams- gave me faith in doctors again
  • Prince of Persia: The Sands of Time with Jake Gyllenhal
  • Ratatouille
  • Samurai with Tom Cruize
  • Scrooged
  • Science and Sensibility
  • Shriek
  • Sleepless in Seattle
  • Star Trek with Chris Pine
  • Soul Surfer
  • Taking Chance with Kevin Bacon
  • The Blind Side
  • The Chronicles of Narnia
  • The Green Mile with Tom Hanks
  • The Holiday
  • The Elephant Man
  • The Help
  • The Hurt Locker – couldn’t finish it yet!!!!!
  • The Prince of Egypt – Spielberg
  • The Polar Express
  • Transformers
  • Twilight
  • UP
  • Wall-e
  • War Horse
  • You’ve Got Mail

It is true I love too many movies!

Can you think of some movies that are worth watching that I have not added to my list?

Thanks for reading my blog….Beverley

