M stands for Mushroom and Meekness!

Hmm mushrooms. Grown in most unusual way; usually mushrooms are grown in compost including straw and hay.

mushrooms

Mushroom
A mushroom is the fleshy, spore-bearing fruiting body of a fungus, typically produced above ground on soil or on its food source. Wikipedia

It is known that edible mushrooms are consumed by humans as comestibles for their nutritional value; Mushrooms have Niacin, riboflavin, vitamin D, potassium, selenium to name a few.
They are occasionally consumed for their supposed medicinal value.

The Humble Mushroom is waiting in the shadows to be picked. The meek and mild mushroom waiting for our table but don’t be fooled there are poisonous mushrooms out there so be careful.

We can be valuable and sought for like edible mushrooms or we can be toxic like poisonous mushrooms.

We choose who we want to be. Yes there are circumstance in our lives that would drive faith away, drive away love or un-nurtured love, bitterness, anger, fear, confusion; the list is endless. In acute situations it could involve counselling. However there comes a time we Must face the demons and seek after that which is good. Like Meekness.

Meekness is not exactly a sought after attribute nonetheless an important one.

How would you describe Meekness?

• Humble, patient, kind, gentle even under provocation from others
• Don’t repay evil for evil
• Person of good conversation, live a good life, good deeds done in humility without fanfare.
• Calm temper not easily provoked
 • Bridles anger -Anyone can get angry
• Linked to humility not prone to jealousy or envy
 • Goes against human pride and the ills of humanity of grabbing, greed, climb the ladder and knock the-other-person-off-the-rung-  if-you-can kinda a mindset
• So I’m told that meekness “literally means “strength under control
• Meekness is not weakness, but strength harnessed for service
 • Not wimpiness or spineless as some would suggest
• Doesn’t create collateral damage
• Not survival of the fittest by force
• Exercised in Compassion
• Concerned with the interests of others
• Gracious

What practical example can we give for meekness.  The kid who sits alone at the lunch table; join him.  I am sure you can think of others.

Quotes I am Pondering Today!

With Malice toward none, with charity for all, with firmness in the right, as God gives us to see the right, let us strive on to finish the work we are in, to bind up the nation’s wounds.
 -Abraham Lincoln

*

 “I believe the first test of a truly great man is his humility. I do not mean by humility, doubt of his own power, or hesitation in speaking his opinion. But really great men have a … feeling that the greatness is not in them but through them; that they could not do or be anything else than God made them.”
-John Riskin

*

Poem by Abraham Lincoln

Meekness is not weakness

Meekness is not weakness its strength under control,
Don’t think of me as weak, shy, reserved, or timid.
I’m a child of the king the half has not yet been told.
No! You can’t walk all over me and treat me like a door mat,
I’m not trying to straighten out the world and that settles that.

I refuse to respond to every critic and I won’t let it bother me,
I may have the power to do something about it, but my time
Is too valuable you see: I’ll keep my focus and stand tall doing
What I’m called to do. My strength and power is in God’s control
Meekness is not weakness, blessed are the chosen few.

yellow flowers forest

Hope you have a terrific Week!

Thanks for reading my bLoG!

