Deer_Lake_Powerhouse

Memories

Let’s shape our memories now for the future.  Let’s give our kids, grandkids, nephews, nieces, good memories to draw from-From this second forward.

Time can forget some memories, but there are some memories which can make us forget time and those memories make life sweeter.

A smile happens in a flash, but its memory can last a lifetime.

Located in the province of Newfoundland, Grand Lake is a natural lake dammed for hydroelectric power early in the last century. The expanded lake now covers about 132,000 acres along the Humber River. Set amid the craggy heights of the eastern fringe of the Appalachian Mountains, the area around Grand Lake has evolved into a wide swath of Provincial lands used in the past for logging and mining. When the local paper milling company dammed the outlet of the existing Grand Lake in 1925 to produce power for the mills, the water level was raised over 100 feet, drowning the abandoned coal mines and a portion of the Humber Valley over sixty miles long. The resulting lake is nearly 1000 feet deep in spots, the deepest lake in Newfoundland. The large lake also holds the largest island in Canada, Glover Island.

It is here that the Humber Canal offers a shorter water route to Deer Lake and was the site of the paper mill that originally dammed Grand Lake. The paper mill has changed hands several times over the years, as has control of the dam and power generating units. The Deer Lake Power Company now distributes the hydro-power to several small communities in the area and to the main power grid. The old paper mill plant whistle sill sounds daily during the week and on Saturdays, more as an historical tradition than as a call to work. Deer Lake is one of the few remaining towns where parents still tell their children to ‘be home when the whistle blows!’

http://www.lakelubbers.com/grand-lake-2202/

I remember in my hometown of Deer Lake we had a high school field trip to the powerhouse. It was amazing to see the workings of the big turbines.  On that day as usual the whistle was to blow at 12 noon;  I got to press the button to set the town whistle/siren to blow.  That was the day I had lime pop for the first time and the first time I had a donut.  For some reason Lime drink/pop and donut together tastes fantastic.

newfoundland-geomorphology

I don’t have all good memories but I have learned to make sure these terrible memories don’t run my life.

“We cannot change our memories, but we can change their meaning and the power they have over us”  David Seamands

We all tend to be restricted by our memories. Allow the benefits of meditation  to change you from within, by the renewing of your mind- attitude and perceptions.

When you live life and you are living the experience, you tend not to appreciate them as you are living them. It’s only when you look back and realize how special they were.

THE ABILITY TO REMEMBER IS A BLESSING FROM GOD. IN A FLASH YOU CAN BE FISHING WITH YOUR GRANDFATHER. SWIMMING AT YOUR FAVORITE LAKE. HITTING THE GAME WINNING HOME RUN IN HIGH SCHOOL. TIME CANNOT ROB YOU OF MEMORIES UNLESS THEY BECOME UNIMPORTANT AND YOU CHOSE TO FORGET THEM.

REMEMBER THE DAYS OF OLD, CONSIDER THE GENERATIONS LONG PASTED.

WE HAVE A TENDENCY TO FORGET WHAT GOD HAS DONE FOR US. WE CENTER IN ON THE NEGATIVES AND LET SLIP THROUGH OUR MINDS ALL THE TIMES THAT GOD WAS THERE FOR US.

194_9493_Reflections_Deer_Lake__a

In spite of some rotten pasts there are things we can do as seen in this quote:

I used to teach in an abused children’s home. I told the kids, “You all have a manure pile of memories. Nothing you can do about that. Now you can drown in the stink or turn it into compost and grow a garden. I wouldn’t be as good a teacher to you if I didn’t know what you’re going through. That way, I make my memories do good instead of letting them eat me. I’m like Herbie from Rudolph the Red-nosed Reindeer. I pulled my Bumble’s teeth. He’s still big and scary but he can’t bite me anymore.”
Rebecca O’Donnell, Freak: The True Story of an Insecurity Addict
My mind
remember
recall essence of this journey
good the bad
happy and sad
chaos the tranquil
fairness and unfairness
life and death
through it all
i’ve come to trust,
all made sense
what seemed senseless
by
the glory of the creator
my life is in your hands
my heart
explodes in praise
without force,
in peace and rest
i hear the sound
of the holy
of your great name
all fear all sickness
will flee,
at that same sound
when i stumbled
i felt your strength
raise me up,
orphans and poor
found sustenance
at that same name’s sound,
now
my
physicality
spirituality
inner most
the creator transfixed
to
the
marrow of my bones
i wait …©

March 17, 2013
Beverleyhoyles

Thanks for reading my bLoG!

deerlake power plant

