The truth so help me God.

Surreal God moment that I did not orchestrate.
It was a compulsion to write, yes it was cathartic and yes it changed my life forever.

I don’t do something of this magnitude (writing my life story exposing secrets of my heart) in a rash way.
I thought, prayed, weighed it time and again. But there was a moment of no return; Through tears and sobs and soul’s agony as the words began to pour out.

60 days to write and 10 years in draft format then to the publisher. All our life savings and what seem to be a thousand conversations, legalities, explanations, edits and approvals.

I remember the day my husband and i went to the publisher – my hubby waited in the car as I went inside. It was like a spiritual walk. I was taken to the conference room and actually feeling a little anxious. The lady in charge of my book entered the room and after a few formalities gave me the first copy. Holding it close meant I was holding my whole life and others close to my heart. I have to admit it was a huge surreal moment.

The copy of the book was a result of a type of birth that should not be trifled with but looked at, touched, felt and cherished, examined, loved even, but then again that’s an author’s viewpoint.

At first I thought family and friends supported ME and FEET FIRST.
It was false. Many lacked courage to read it. Many felt by reading somehow betrayed my mother.

Yes I faced disappointment.
The question was asked of me: “why you? Why did you have to write it, there are thousands of books written about abuse?”

Beverley Hoyles CVR resize very small

Truth doesn’t always give the response you expect.
Truth doesn’t mean you don’t love.
In fact courage to speak truth for me was the greatest love.

I found that in speaking truth brought an array of disappointments.

Some read the book in critical condescending ways with a criticism to find ways to destroy my credibility. Others got bits and pieces from the book via another’s negative opinion thereby tarnishing what would have been something special for them.

I have tried to overlook that part of the disappointment for many reasons.

Then there were numerous people via the Internet, amazon, book signings came a multitude of comments, emails, thank you’s and calls. Simply an unexpected humbling experience.

Do I give up because some would not support my efforts?
No!
I am in the draft process of the manual that would accompany Feet First.

It has been mind-boggling when I think of the people who have contributed to the manual.

I am humbled AND honored by the path to each one of them.

I know I may not have a ‘come over for tea on Saturday and we’ll chat’ type relationship but my life has been enriched by them, their values, blogs, books, heart.

I took 9 months off; a type of sabbatical from the manual because I felt physically drained but I’m ready to get cracking again toward its completion.

I pray someday that all of my family would have the courage to read my book Feet First.

I do hope many more will  read Feet First on sale at amazon or available from our office. It’s okay you can love it or hate it; your choice.

If you are willing to do a review I will give you a complimentary hard copy or Ebook format.

Here are three ways to purchase Feet First from Amazon:
Amazon UK

Amazon .COM

Amazon.CA
Or by email at:  feetfirstbook@gmail.com

It’s silly to say I wrote a book for no one to read it. I want people to read it and be blessed or the very least, a book to read.

Childhood abuse can cast a long shadow over your life influencing your emotional state, psychological state, physical state, health and how you relate to others. I believe I learned that while writing the book as the author of my life story and so much more as I am writing this second book.

I guess that gives clarity of why I wrote Feet First. I would like to lighten the shadow on the lives of my siblings, my family, my friends, my world. To personally make a positive impact on anyone that would allow my words to enter their world. To expose abuse for what it is and be willing to warn, to educate.

Patty Rase Hopson said that Abuse changes your life…Fight Back and change the life of your abusers by Breaking Your Silence on Abuse!

I believe this initial step puts the control of your life back into your hands and a necessary step toward healing and recovery.  I also sincerely believe it will help thousands in peril at this very moment.

feet first for print FINAL

For not only does sound reason direct us to refuse the guidance of those who do or teach anything wrong, but it is by all means vital for the lover of truth, regardless of the threat of death, to choose to do and say what is right even before saving his own life. A.W. Tozer

Truth has no special time of its own. Its hour is now – always.   Albert Schweitzer

Even in literature and art, no man who bothers about originality will ever be original: whereas if you simply try to tell the truth (without caring twopence how often it has been told before) you will, nine times out of ten, become original without ever having noticed it.”
― C.S. Lewis, Mere Christianity

Thanks for reading my bLoG!

red shoes

