A Safe Place

There is this line in the song
…looking for one safe place…
That triggered my thoughts.

Marc Cohn – One Safe Place Lyrics

How many roads you’ve traveled
How many dreams you’ve chased
Across sand and sky and gravel
Looking for one safe place

Will you make a smoother landing
When you break your fall from grace
Into the arms of understanding
Looking for one safe place

Oh, life is a trial by fire
And love’s the sweetest taste
And I pray it lifts us higher
To one safe place

How many roads we’ve traveled
How many dreams we’ve chased
Across sand and sky and gravel
Looking for one safe place

The ache for home lives in all of us, the safe place where we can go as we are and not be questioned. Maya Angelou

I think every human on the planet will admit our basic physical needs are for food, water, sleep, and warmth. I believe the needs close to those basic needs is the need for safety and security.

safety

Every child should have a safe place in their life. Joe Manchin
There is a place of reconciliation.
There is a place for forgiveness.
AT least for those that want it with the person/s who has abused you.

There is a place where you have never spoken the truth about the abuse with the abuser.

There is a place where you can pretend a normal relationship with the abuser and pretend it never happened but as we get older that plays havoc with your body and mind and emotions. You will gradually get sicker and sicker. Your spirit and psyche will become more disturbed.

No man or woman on the face of this earth can ignore it forever without suffering for it.

Some say a safe place may be where we live or maybe in whom we live.

I believe a safe place is compiled of many things and if either is damaged we could live in a non-safe zone. Safety is required where we live, how we live, where we were raised, and in whom we trust in our spiritual safety.

For me spiritual safety is simple I walk the path knowing that the creator God is behind me, before me, in my footsteps.

Where I live is fairly simple most of the time. I trust that my immediate family will be respectful and loving. Will protect me when I’m sick. Will see that I am cared for in my aging process and probable death. My husband and I try to keep working to maintain a safe home.

How I live is sometimes Dicey but I simply apply some honest cardinal rules that assist in living safe. My spiritual beliefs flow into how I live which actually protects me and I am free to be as creative and excited about living and learning. The How helps me to be loving albeit I sometimes lose my patience with people but I try to keep the what I consider to be spiritual fruits before me and make it my life long goal to daily work at each of them. Namely; love, temperance, peace, joy, goodness, gentleness, patience, self-control and kindness. Of course they are worthless if I did not continue to do service for others and acts of grace each day.

I long to dwell in your tent forever and take refuge in the shelter of your wings. This would give credence to spiritual security.
 
I saved this one for last; Safety in where [how] we raised.
I have made peace with the person/s that have abused me in my childhood. I have forgiven long ago and I have done all I could to make things right. Some would say then that’s the end of it. It’s all over now.

No.

I feel I must speak about abuse, be an advocate, educate about abuse, help those who neglect or cannot seek for recovery.

The door to safety hinges on our common sense.

When safety is taken from a child it messes up adult safety.
How we raise our kids is imperative to their safety, to their emotional safety, their spiritual safety, their growth, their whole humanity.

Nothing is too difficult for a creator God to help us to handle. It doesn’t mean you will bypass the necessary steps of hard work to healing.

One encouragement I would give: start a journal, write, talk about the pain. It will start the journey to healing.
*

“We attach our feelings to the moment when we were hurt, endowing it with immortality. And we let it assault us every time it comes to mind. It travels with us, sleeps with us, hovers over us while we make love, and broods over us while we die. Our hate does not even have the decency to die when those we hate die–for it is a parasite sucking OUR blood, not theirs. There is only one remedy for it. [forgiveness] Lewis B. Smedes – Forgive & Forget: Healing the Hurts We Don’t Deserve

*
All the years you have waited for them to “make it up to you” and all the energy you expended trying to make them change (or make them pay) kept the old wounds from healing and gave pain from the past free rein to shape and even damage your life. And still they may not have changed. Nothing you have done has made them change. Indeed, they may never change. Inner peace is found by changing yourself, not the people who hurt you. And you change yourself for yourself, for the joy, serenity, peace of mind, understanding, compassion, laughter, and bright future that you get.” –   Lewis B. Smedes – The Art of Forgiving: When You Need To Forgive And Don’t Know How

*
“Forgiving does not erase the bitter past. A healed memory is not a deleted memory. Instead, forgiving what we cannot forget creates a new way to remember. We change the memory of our past into a hope for our future.”    —Lewis B. Smedes

Talking about abuse helps.

I Turned 60 Christmas 2012 and I have so much to learn. All I know for sure I have to keep loving the best I can and then learn some more and then loving the best I can.

ShootingStars

I am
sojourner of truth
on the path
not sauntering
a racer
in
the
race of my life
where to you ask?
to the golden streets
to the tree by the river eternal
musical realm
it’s heaven
a place
i want to be
every step every sprint
every movement
through earth
is like a shooting star
to my destiny
but
between
here
and
there
no looking back
a time to prepare
learn love
share love
now..©

Beverleyhoyles
May 6, 2013

feet first for print FINAL

Thanks for reading my bLoG!

