One

One last look

heart heavy
thoughts of pain and tragedy
could not see while viewing
burden of yesteryear
all i could carry
ways and means to continue thus
only misery
darkness
laborious journey
almost to eternity
weary to marrow of my bones
threatening twist
to face malignant demons
each tentacle
eclipsed light, love, happiness
to lift the shrouded darkness
major transform turn around
face haunting past
examine stepping stones
understand let it go
in front, many heaps of ashes lay
pierced my heart to see
the ashes and debris of the past
collective heartbreak
feel dreams, wishes, desires
search for love, slip
through my fingers
burned in ashes lay
to be swept away
as dust
trail laden stench
daunting debris
sat in it’s wake
puddle of despair de’bauchery
unfixable mess
i heard shrieks and screams
god help me see beyond
thickening black
brilliant electrical illuminacity
in twinkling twinning
of love and enlightenment
clarity of thought
transfixed in joy
alien to me
path ahead darkness still
one last look of the past
deep breath
facing new path in faith
suddenly an ambient light
gentle cascade
looking up tril-lions
of wonder and might
shimmering across the sky
to brighten my path
shackels dissipate
ready to move on
lifting my hands t’ward
‘stars’ …

beverley hoyles
oct 12,2012

Thanks for reading one of my older poems.

ppf

