guilty-conscience

In my opinion;
Some of the most popular literature in the world is found in the book of Psalms; the songbook of Israel which most were set to music.

I am only one of millions who love Psalm 23,The Lord is my Shepherd, Psalm 90, the oldest Psalm, written by Moses, Psalm 46, a favorite read at funerals, God is our refuge and strength, an ever-present help in trouble. Post adultery Psalm 51.

Have you ever had trouble- trying to silence a guilty conscience?

Guilt in the back of our minds can drive us nuts.

Many people try all sorts of ways to deal with the terrible feelings of guilt and the low self-esteem that inevitably comes after they’ve messed up.

Some people try to Deny it or make excuses or they try to ignore it

OR you can Deaden your guilt, by eating, drinking, inhaling, or injecting something to make the pain go away.

Sometimes people try to compensate by doing something good -Guilt is a powerful motivator.

It’s not unusual for people to goof up and be stupid or be unwise or get loss in the moment and make a mistake or get lazy let down their guard and commit a sin.

When we do something wrong, you or I can try to cover it up or fess up.

Because I have friends who have suffered the after effects of adultery I often think of the story of King David and his adultery with Bathsheba.

David wrote Psalm 51 after his sin of adultery right after being found out his attempt to cover up didn’t work.

So here’s the true story: David is lazing around in the palace when he should have been at work with his armies [fighting the Ammonites] with too much time on his hands and happens to see a woman taking a bath, and instantly lust takes hold, and he tells his servant, bring her to me. Bathsheba of course, being the wife of Uriah One of the highest ranking men who helped him win many victories…

And wouldn’t you know that after this little affair Bathsheba gets pregnant and the great cover up begins. He brings Uriah home from the war, and try’s several times to get him to sleep with Bathsheba, but being an honorable soldier – he won’t.

Since that didn’t work David put Uriah in front of a battle to get him killed – The plan works, Uriah dies.

David immediately marries Bathsheba.

I wonder, did David have a guilty conscience? I believe the creator was displeased with David’s actions.

I often wonder what 8 months of Bathsheba’s pregnancy were like. Was she suspicious of David, what were his thoughts.

I think he was gonna try to deal with it by not dealing with it.

Ignore it.

But creator God is not gonna let him forget it.

Enter; God’s prophet Nathan came to confront him.

 

What has history told us what David said; “I have sinned against the Lord!”

 Heart

Even if you aren’t a Bible believing person Psalm 51- a psalm of David is amazing.

Psalm 51

1  Have mercy on me, O God,
    according to your unfailing love;
according to your great compassion
    blot out my transgressions.
Wash away all my iniquity
    and cleanse me from my sin.

For I know my transgressions,
    and my sin is always before me.
Against you, you only, have I sinned
    and done what is evil in your sight;
so you are right in your verdict
    and justified when you judge.
Surely I was sinful at birth,
    sinful from the time my mother conceived me.
Yet you desired faithfulness even in the womb;
    you taught me wisdom in that secret place.

Cleanse me with hyssop, and I will be clean;
    wash me, and I will be whiter than snow.
Let me hear joy and gladness;
    let the bones you have crushed rejoice.
Hide your face from my sins
    and blot out all my iniquity.
10 Create in me a pure heart, O God,
    and renew a steadfast spirit within me.
11 Do not cast me from your presence
    or take your Holy Spirit from me.
12 Restore to me the joy of your salvation
    and grant me a willing spirit, to sustain me

 

I guess what I am saying is that the Only way to deal with a guilty conscience – ADMIT.

 

We are responsible for our own lives and It does no good to blame other people, or blame my circumstances.

Edgar Allen Poe’s story, “The Telltale Heart”?

In that story, the main character has committed murder and he buries the body under floorboards in his house. But the murderer can’t escape the guilt of his deed.

He begins to hear the heartbeat of his dead victim. A cold sweat pours over him as that heartbeat goes on and on, relentlessly, getting louder and louder.

Finally the noise in his head is driving him crazy, he can’t take it anymore, he’s sure everyone else must hear it too, and they’re just taunting him by ignoring, it, just playing with him. And so finally in a fit of desperation, he confesses everything and shows policemen the body.

I would be stupid to think that our/my actions doesn’t hurt others. For me personally because of my commitment I have to make it right with the creator before I can make it right with my family or neighbor.

Guilt is good if we allow it to guide us to better decisions.

Dr. Brand who spent much of his life in India working with leprosy patients made a major discovery – Because of the lack of pain they were constantly injuring themselves which would result in amputation.

Guilt is just as important to our lives as pain and it is a warning sign that helps us know that something needs to change.

There are bad choices, mistakes, neglects that are not sins, but may require forgiveness.  But there are things I choose to believe are sin. We are caught in a web -in a mess, sin, stupidity – we need mercy and grace – well I do.

Mercy to escape the bad, and grace to be given the goodness of forgiveness and freedom to go forward.

Forgiveness does not come cheaply neither physically, emotionally nor spiritually. (Someone pays)

For the psalmist David he understood this –  in his day they dipped hyssop in the blood of sacrificed animals and applied to the altar or doorposts over the house.

As I follow the teachings of Christ – it is inherent in his teachings that if we ( I ) sin it is paid by his shed blood. My relationship with my creator allows a Higher accountability for my thoughts, words and actions.

In the case of adultery blood spills because the lifeblood of the relationship dies.

Rarely, it is recovered through forgiveness.

It’s that powerful force of love That gives us forgiveness, mercy and grace.

The psalmist said Create in me a pure heart, O God, renew a steadfast spirit within me. Restore unto me the joy. We all need strength and power to keep us on tract and stay away from that which caused us guilt in the first place.

What’s the use of guilt alone – but “I’m sorry” “I repent” and I want to make a change is necessary.

A change of heart.
A change of mind.
and A change of direction.

Such contrition removes guilt AND joy replaces inner anguish.

Truly each of us is in charge of our lives and choices and we are often challenged by them.

However, it is important to note that whatever we do there are ripple effects.

Don’t get me wrong; we will make mistakes, but whatever happens in your life – Admit and Go Forward.

I know it’s been a serious tone tonight on my blog, but do come back.

Stay Kind Hearted!
Stay Safe!

 

Thanks for reading my blog.

con_01

 

 

 

flight_of_freedom_bald_eagle-normal

 

 

