hubble-m45_large

On Being Positive

I want to keep  ‘that’ light,  ‘that’ sparkle, ‘that’ positive vibe in my life.

To be completely honest I’ve had to fight to maintain that lately.

I learned from my childhood that a negative attitude brings grief to the whole family. My mom hardly ever had a conversation that was not negative. No matter the day, the situation, meal hour at the table, in the yard, after school, bedtime, my siblings and I had a bad stomach as a result of the stress.  I must say now in her 70’s she is making an effort to change. I understand her more now.

An abusive past that included childhood, adolescence,  periods of public life gave me the foundation to be negative.

Our choices especially wrong, immoral, unthoughtful, unsafe, inconsiderate, selfish choices impacts those around us. Although choices made by people with health and mental illness are not always choices but challenges that affect us and totally a different matter.

I remember; I determined at a young age to be a positive influence however that did not always translate into reality.

Personally I thing good choices have good consequences. Choices I make today affect my body, soul and spirit that affect others. To begin the process of good choices I certainly need a positive attitude, God’s guidance and some good ole common sense. If my choices are good then that is very good.

I know instinctively I have to Focus on the Positive. At 62 the days of daydreaming for a better life is over, I can watch as many romantic, feel good, get rich, Christmas movies I want but my life is what it is. When I thought the worse was over; My heart breaks knowing that someone close to me is suffering cyber bulling, another with marital issues, a dear friend has just been diagnosed with cancer, and far to many of my friends are now dealing with life threatening diseases.  To know that someone I know is homeless.

The goals I have not realized YET now seem insignificant compared to these concerns. Still I must go on, life still happens and the choice is mine to persevere and pursue dreams, loves. I’m  thinkin’ many have experienced accomplishments later in life and in spite of tragedy and difficulty.

Michelangelo sculptured masterfully at eighty-nine. Monet painted his best pictures after he was eighty-five so maybe I should get back to painting. I am still a 60’s Possibility.

It was only the catharsis of writing my book  “Feet First ” and the grace and mercy of God that I’ve moved beyond abuse.

While I have overcome the pain of the past there are hurdles in the ‘here and now’ on a daily basis we all must overcome.

I must at any cost practice positive thinking.

Say Yes here’s another hurdle that I must stop and ask, how shall God and I overcome this thing?

Say thank you for everything.

Say I shall do good today.

You See- when I focus on the positive side it actually help me make more choices to look on the bright side.

I’m naturally a serious person but I do try to relax and shake it off. I want to anticipate a fun future even if I do not have at present a plan for our senior years. I’m still workin’ on that.

There is So much I can get bitter about But then why don’t I have the right to get angry and stay angry? So many arbitrarily choose things to impact and hurt me, why not?

Bitterness the unresolved anger turned inward eventually becomes hate towards all those that have wronged me.

BUT I want to be SWEET not a sourpuss.

What of you? Have you experiences in the past that caused you deep hurts whether it is illness or choices by others?

O God help me see there is positive in this day in spite of a new bump in the road.

How?

Firstly, to get a best perspective on today, Help me to be helpful and maintain a servants caring attitude just like the lowly carpenter.

Secondly, help me to continue to praise you and uplift others.

Thirdly, I wish to be grateful every day.

It’s not hard to believe I get discouraged but every kind word; smile I give to others through my discouragement is like a natural injection of meds.

A cheerful heart is good medicine, but a downcast spirit dries the bones. (Prov. 17:22) Yesterday as I was writing this post a dagger of disappointment pierced my soul when a family member gives me more news that breaks the heart and darkens my countenance as a blind.

Then just as quickly I was reminded of  David who said ‘I WILL’ encourage myself in The Lord.

“WE are pressed on every side by troubles, but not crushed and broken. We are perplexed because we don’t know why things happen as they do, but we don’t give up and quit. We are hunted down, but God never abandons us. We get knocked down, but we get up again and keep going.”

I want to be ‘that’ light  ‘that’ sparkle of encouragement for my children  and grandchildren. You may not give credence to scripture but may it be an encouragement to you anyway; it helps me daily.

Philippians 4: 4 Rejoice in the Lord always. I will say it again: Rejoice! 5 Let your gentleness be evident to all. The Lord is near. 6 Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. 7 And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus. 8 Finally, brothers and sisters, whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable—if anything is excellent or praiseworthy—think about such things. 9 Whatever you have learned or received or heard from me, or seen in me—put it into practice. And the God of peace will be with you.

Today serendipitously the following example was given to me and I would love to share it.

So often many are like Gideon; at our weakest moment to be found a prisoner of fear and hiding in the most inappropriate place like an awful wine press. I too have been so afraid of losing and living in the dungeon of fear, frustrated, perspiring. But then suddenly an Angel of the Lord appeared and said; The Lord is with you, you mighty man/woman of fearless courage.  Judges 6  

A mighty person of courage while others may see a loser; God sees a winner. Wow. I am so glad the way God sees me…He sees more in us then we see ourselves.

May You and I be Sweet!

Thanks for stopping by.

Beverley

 

Beverley`s book Feet First is available Here:

 

The above Blue Picture:

The original image is available at the HubbleSite News Center.

The image was produced by the Space Telescope Science Institute (STScI) using the Hubble Space Telecope. No claim to copyright is being asserted by STScI and it may be freely used as in the public domain in accordance with a NASA contract (NAS5-26555). However, it is requested by STScI that in any subsequent use of this work NASA and STScI be given appropriate acknowledgement. STScI further requests voluntary reporting of all use, derivative creation, and other alteration of this work (to: copyright@stsci.edu).

 

IMG_8395 ‘Aurora borealis’

 

